Eastampton Township is governed by the Faulkner Act (formally known as the Optional Municipal Charter Law) under the Council-Manager system of municipal government (Plan E), implemented based on the recommendation of a Charter Study Commission as of January 1, 1983.  The residents of Eastampton adopted the Council-Manager form of New Jersey municipal government based on a referendum passed in 1982.  The Eastampton Township Council consists of five members elected at-large in partisan elections to staggered four-year terms of office, with either two or three seats coming up for election on a staggered basis in even years as part of the November general election.  The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are selected by the Council from among its members at a reorganization meeting held each year during the first week of January.  The Mayor coordinates the work of the Council, chairs Council meetings and is the township’s public representative.  The Mayor also signs all contracts and obligations of the Township and is empowered to perform marriages.